#7. Accidental Birthdays

It was a long day,

longer than the Equinox,

longer than the Solstice, even.

My eyelids were heavy and half-closed

when I made back to my apartment that night.

Shoving my bag aside and switching on the lights,

people jump up and scream,

“Happy Birthday!”

Huh?

I am confused, only momentarily,

because then you come bouncing towards me

with a huge, face-splitting smile,

so genuine and warm

and even your slight frame knocks me back a little,

when you hug me with so much love.

“Happy birthday!” You say.

I smile back at her,

as she leads me towards the cake.

It was the best birthday ever,

even if it was a few months early.

Parvathi and are doing Rebirth In April in June. Yes. No, we’re not confused. Check out her poetry! They’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

